Carrollton, TX · Dallas County (South) + Denton County (North) Split · Population ~140,000 · North Dallas Suburb on I-35E · No Rent Control (Tex. Prop. Code §250.007 + SB 1780 2023 Preemption) · Ch. 92 Security Deposit No Statutory Cap · 30-Day Return 3× Bad-Faith Penalty · 3-Day Notice to Vacate · Dallas County OR Denton County JP Court (by Property Location) · DART Green Line Trinity Mills Station · Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD ~5,000+ Employees · Medical City Carrollton (HCA) · Korean-American & Indian-American Communities · 1BR 2026: $950–$1,600

Carrollton TX rent increase 2026 Carrollton, Texas — straddling Dallas County (south) and Denton County (north), ~140,000 residents, north Dallas suburb on I-35E — has no rent control. Texas Property Code §250.007 and SB 1780 (2023, signed by Gov. Abbott) expressly preempt all city and county rent stabilization. Critical for landlords: Carrollton crosses two counties — eviction must be filed in Dallas County JP Court (south Carrollton) or Denton County JP Court (north Carrollton) based on the property’s location. DART Green Line (Trinity Mills Station) provides direct downtown Dallas access. Ch. 92: no statutory deposit cap; 30-day return after tenant surrenders and provides forwarding address; 3× bad-faith penalty + $100 + attorney fees (§92.109). Home to Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD (~5,000+ employees), Medical City Carrollton (HCA Healthcare), and one of DFW’s most vibrant Korean-American commercial corridors. 1BR 2026: $950–$1,600.

Carrollton, Texas — the north Dallas suburb anchored by a major school district, DART rail access to downtown Dallas, and thriving Korean-American and Indian-American communities — has no local rent control ordinance, and Texas state law absolutely prohibits one. Carrollton landlords may raise rent freely at lease expiration.

County split alert: Carrollton straddles Dallas County (south) and Denton County (north). Eviction filings must go to the correct county Justice Court based on the physical location of the rental property — filing in the wrong county results in dismissal. Verify your property’s county at dallascad.org (Dallas) or dcad.org (Denton).

Texas rent control law: what Carrollton landlords must know

Texas has categorically prohibited local rent control under two overlapping layers of state law. Texas Property Code §250.007 prohibits political subdivisions from enacting rent control ordinances. SB 1780 (signed by Governor Greg Abbott in 2023) comprehensively reinforced this preemption, targeting any ordinance or policy that limits residential rent, establishes a CPI-linked formula, creates a rent board, requires landlord justification of an increase, or mandates a rent registry.

Carrollton’s split between Dallas County and Denton County creates no different rent control rules — both counties are equally preempted. The Carrollton City Council has no legal authority to enact any rent cap or stabilization measure. Carrollton landlords may raise rent by any amount at lease expiration without reason, approval, or administrative filing.

For month-to-month tenancies, Texas statute does not specify a minimum advance notice period — the lease terms control. Most standard Texas leases provide 30 days’ advance written notice of a rent change. For fixed-term leases, rent may not be changed during the term without mutual agreement.

Critical: Dallas County vs. Denton County — which JP Court governs?

Carrollton substantially spans two counties: Dallas County covers the southern portion (including Old Town Carrollton, the I-35E south corridor, and south Carrollton neighborhoods) and Denton County covers the northern portion (including north Carrollton neighborhoods, the Frankford Rd corridor, and areas near the George Bush Turnpike (SH-190)).

For eviction filings, the landlord must file in the Justice Court for the county where the rental property is located:

  • Dallas County Justice Court for properties in south Carrollton — generally south of the Dallas/Denton county line, including Old Town Carrollton (Belt Line Rd / Denton Dr area), south I-35E corridor, and properties listed in Dallas CAD (dallascad.org).
  • Denton County Justice Court for properties in north Carrollton — generally north of the county line, including north Carrollton near Frankford Rd, George Bush Turnpike (SH-190) corridor, and properties listed in Denton CAD (dcad.org).

Verify your property’s county before filing any court action. Filing in the wrong county results in dismissal and delays the eviction. Both counties require the same 3-day written notice under §24.005 and have similar filing fees (~$100–$150) and timelines (5–10 business days for hearing; ~3–5 weeks total uncontested).

Texas security deposit rules for Carrollton landlords (Tex. Prop. Code Ch. 92)

Texas Property Code Chapter 92 applies identically to both Dallas County and Denton County portions of Carrollton.

  • No statutory deposit cap (§92.102): Texas imposes no statutory limit on the security deposit amount. Landlords and tenants may agree to any amount in the lease.
  • Return deadline: 30 days after the tenant surrenders possession AND provides the landlord with a written forwarding address (§92.103). The clock does not begin until both conditions are met. Best practice: obtain forwarding address in writing at move-out.
  • Written itemized statement required for any deductions (§92.104) within the same 30-day window. Each item of damage must be described separately with the amount deducted. Vague descriptions will not support deductions in Justice Court.
  • Bad-faith penalty (§92.109): 3× wrongfully retained + $100 + attorney fees. On a $1,400 deposit wrongfully retained: $4,200 + $100 + fees — potentially $6,000+ total exposure.
  • Non-refundable fees permitted if clearly labeled as non-refundable in the written lease.

Deposit disputes go to the Justice Court for the property’s county: Dallas County Justice Court (south Carrollton) or Denton County Justice Court (north Carrollton).

Carrollton eviction: the 3-day notice to vacate (Tex. Prop. Code §24.005)

Texas Property Code §24.005 governs eviction notice requirements identically in both county portions of Carrollton. Before filing a forcible detainer petition, the landlord must serve a written 3-Day Notice to Vacate.

  • Written notice stating the reason for termination (for non-payment: amount owed and rental period), demanding the tenant vacate within 3 days.
  • Delivery methods: personal delivery to tenant; delivery to any person 16+ at the premises; affixing to inside of main entry door; or regular/certified mail (adds 3 days for transit).
  • No statutory cure right: Texas does not require a pay-and-cure option.
  • After 3 days: file a forcible detainer petition in the appropriate county Justice Court — Dallas County for south Carrollton; Denton County for north Carrollton. Filing fee ~$100–$150. Hearing set 5–10 business days after filing and service.
  • If landlord prevails: Judgment for Possession. Tenant has 5 days to vacate or appeal by bond. After 5 days, landlord requests Writ of Possession; county constable executes lockout.

Total uncontested timeline: approximately 3–5 weeks in both Dallas County and Denton County in 2026. Carrollton has no local tenant protection ordinance adding steps beyond Texas state law.

DART Green Line: Carrollton’s transit advantage

Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) Green Line light rail service is one of Carrollton’s most significant competitive rental advantages. The DART Green Line connects downtown Dallas through Irving and Farmers Branch into Carrollton, with Trinity Mills Station (approximately 2530 Valwood Pkwy, near I-35E and Belt Line Rd in south Carrollton) serving as Carrollton’s primary rail connection to the broader DART network.

Trinity Mills Station provides direct, no-transfer rail service to downtown Dallas, Uptown, and other DART Green Line destinations, making it possible for Carrollton residents to commute to Dallas employment centers in approximately 30–40 minutes without a car.

Apartments within walkable distance of Trinity Mills Station (typically 0.5–1.0 mile) command a meaningful rental premium: approximately $1,100–$1,600 for 1BR in the DART-adjacent south Carrollton corridor, versus $950–$1,300 for comparable units in auto-dependent north Carrollton. Transit access is particularly valued by young professionals who work in downtown Dallas but prefer Carrollton’s lower rents and diverse community character over the higher costs of Dallas proper ($1,500–$2,500+ for 1BR in Uptown or Deep Ellum).

For Carrollton landlords, proximity to Trinity Mills DART Station is the single most reliable predictor of above-market rent premiums within the city. Because Texas has no rent control under §250.007 and SB 1780, any DART-adjacent rental premium is fully market-priced and landlords may capture it without regulatory constraint.

Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD: the district anchor

Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School District (1445 N Perry Rd, Carrollton TX 75006) serves students across Carrollton, Farmers Branch, Addison, and portions of Dallas, with approximately 24,000 students and 5,000+ employees including teachers, administrators, paraprofessionals, counselors, bus drivers, custodial, cafeteria, and maintenance staff.

CFBISD operates multiple high schools (Creekview High School, Newman Smith High School, Ranchview High School, and early college programs) and dozens of elementary and middle school campuses distributed across Carrollton and Farmers Branch. Teacher salaries in CFBISD range from approximately $45,000 for beginning teachers to $75,000+ for experienced educators, with administrators earning $80,000–$140,000+.

The district’s workforce creates stable, year-round rental demand distributed throughout south and central Carrollton (where most CFBISD campuses are concentrated), particularly for 1BR and 2BR apartments in the $1,000–$1,400 range. CFBISD employment is recession-proof by virtue of constitutionally protected Texas public school funding.

Korean-American and Indian-American communities in Carrollton

Carrollton has developed two of the most significant immigrant business communities in the DFW metroplex, fundamentally shaping both the city’s character and its rental market dynamics.

The Korean-American commercial corridor along Old Denton Rd, N. Josey Lane, and the Belt Line Rd area in south-central Carrollton is one of the largest Korean commercial districts in North Texas, featuring Korean restaurants (including Korean BBQ, seafood, and traditional cuisine), Korean grocery markets, Korean beauty and personal care businesses, Korean-language churches, and community organizations serving the Korean-American diaspora from across Dallas County, Collin County, and Denton County. This corridor has grown steadily since the 1990s and is a regional destination for Korean-American families throughout the DFW area.

North Carrollton near the George Bush Turnpike (SH-190) corridor has attracted a large Indian-American and South Asian community of technology professionals, physicians, engineers, and entrepreneurs, many of whom work at the major technology employers in Plano, Richardson, Allen, and the US-75 Telecom Corridor. This community creates demand for quality 2BR and 3BR rental housing in the $1,300–$2,000/month range, particularly for families with children enrolled in CFBISD schools.

These immigrant communities create sustained, resilient rental demand that has proven more stable than cyclical employment demand: even during economic downturns, occupancy in Carrollton’s established neighborhoods remains high because the population base grows through family reunification and strong community networks. Extended-family household formation also drives above-average demand for 2BR and 3BR units compared to Anglo-majority suburbs.

Medical City Carrollton and healthcare employment

Medical City Carrollton (4343 N Josey Lane, Carrollton TX 75010; HCA Healthcare system) is a full-service hospital serving north Carrollton, Farmers Branch, and adjacent Denton County communities, employing approximately 1,000–1,500 nurses, physicians, technicians, and support staff. The hospital provides 24/7 emergency services, surgical care, and specialty services, generating stable healthcare employment demand for rental housing in north central Carrollton near the Josey Lane corridor.

Healthcare worker salaries at Medical City Carrollton range from approximately $35,000 for entry-level support roles to $90,000+ for registered nurses and $200,000+ for physicians. The hospital’s 24/7 operations produce shift workers who value proximity to the hospital and short commutes, creating demand for apartments within 2–3 miles of the Josey Lane campus.

Carrollton rental market: 2026 submarket overview

Carrollton’s rental market occupies a mid-market position in the DFW metroplex, with DART transit access and diverse community character supporting rents above the Mesquite/Garland tier but below Plano/Allen. Because Texas prohibits rent control under §250.007 and SB 1780, all pricing is market-driven:

  • South Carrollton near DART Green Line / Trinity Mills Station / Old Town corridor (Dallas County): 1BR $1,100–$1,600. Transit premium for Dallas commuters; Old Town Carrollton historic character; Korean-American commercial district proximity; strongest submarket.
  • North Carrollton near George Bush Turnpike (SH-190) / Frankford Rd (Denton County): 1BR $1,100–$1,500. Newer apartment communities; Indian-American community amenities; Plano/Richardson tech employer commute access; Medical City Carrollton proximity.
  • Central Carrollton along I-35E / Josey Lane / Valley Ranch: 1BR $950–$1,350. Established 1980s–2000s apartment stock; CFBISD campus proximity; Medical City Carrollton catchment; broad freeway access.

For context: Farmers Branch (adjacent): 1BR $1,100–$1,600; Addison: 1BR $1,200–$1,800; Plano: 1BR $1,300–$1,900; Lewisville: 1BR $850–$1,500.

Rent increase notice requirements in Carrollton

Texas does not specify a minimum advance notice period for rent increases in statute for either Dallas County or Denton County portions of Carrollton. Most standard Texas leases provide for 30 days’ advance written notice of a rent change. Unlike California (90-day for increases over 10%), Oregon (90-day), or Washington (180-day for increases over 3%), Texas imposes no extended notice requirement even for large increases.

Best practice: provide at least 30 days’ written advance notice before a month-to-month increase takes effect. No reason required. No cap. No government filing.

Related Texas & DFW rent increase resources

Calculate your legal rent ceiling — free for 1 unit

For Carrollton landlords: Texas has no rent control under Tex. Prop. Code §250.007 and SB 1780 (2023), so your legal ceiling is uncapped. Use RentCeiling to document your rent increase with a timestamped compliance log entry — and to track your Chapter 92 deposit return deadline (30 days after surrender plus forwarding address, applicable identically in both Dallas County and Denton County portions of Carrollton). Generate a professional rent-increase notice PDF ready to serve.

Try the free calculator

Frequently asked questions: Carrollton TX rent increase 2026

Does Carrollton TX have rent control in 2026?

No. Carrollton has no local rent control ordinance, and Texas state law — Tex. Prop. Code §250.007 and SB 1780 (2023) — absolutely prohibits Carrollton (or any Texas city or county) from enacting one. Carrollton’s split across Dallas County (south) and Denton County (north) creates no different rent control rules — both counties are equally preempted. Carrollton landlords may raise rent by any amount at lease expiration without reason, government approval, or any administrative filing.

Which county JP Court handles evictions in Carrollton — Dallas or Denton?

Eviction must be filed in the Justice Court for the county where the rental property is located: Dallas County Justice Court for south Carrollton properties (generally south of the Dallas/Denton county line, including Old Town area and south I-35E corridor; verify at dallascad.org); Denton County Justice Court for north Carrollton properties (generally north of the county line, including Frankford Rd and SH-190/George Bush Turnpike area; verify at dcad.org).

Filing in the wrong county results in dismissal. Both counties require the same 3-day written notice under §24.005 before filing, charge similar filing fees (~$100–$150), and have comparable hearing timelines (5–10 business days after filing). Uncontested total timeline in both counties: ~3–5 weeks.

How does DART Green Line service affect Carrollton’s rental market?

DART Green Line (Trinity Mills Station, ~2530 Valwood Pkwy, south Carrollton) provides direct no-transfer rail access to downtown Dallas, making Carrollton one of the best transit-connected affordable suburbs in DFW. DART-adjacent 1BR units in south Carrollton command approximately $1,100–$1,600 in 2026, versus $950–$1,300 for comparable non-transit units in north Carrollton. Transit access is valued by professionals who work in downtown Dallas but prefer Carrollton’s lower costs and community character over Dallas proper ($1,500–$2,500+). Because Texas prohibits rent control under §250.007 and SB 1780, the transit premium is fully market-priced and capturable by landlords without regulatory constraint.

What major employers drive Carrollton’s rental market?

Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD (1445 N Perry Rd; ~24,000 students; ~5,000+ employees) is among Carrollton’s largest employers. Medical City Carrollton (4343 N Josey Lane; HCA Healthcare; ~1,000–1,500 employees) anchors healthcare employment in north central Carrollton. The City of Carrollton government employs ~3,000 municipal workers. The I-35E / SH-190 (George Bush Tollway) corporate corridor in north Carrollton hosts numerous technology, financial services, and logistics employers collectively employing tens of thousands. The Korean-American commercial district (Old Denton Rd / N. Josey Lane) and Indian-American professional community (north Carrollton near SH-190) create sustained cultural-driven rental demand across the city. DART Green Line access pulls additional Dallas-employed commuters who prefer Carrollton’s affordability and community character.

What is Carrollton’s Korean-American community?

Carrollton’s Korean-American corridor along Old Denton Rd, N. Josey Lane, and Belt Line Rd in south-central Carrollton is one of the largest Korean commercial districts in North Texas. The corridor features Korean restaurants (BBQ, seafood, traditional cuisine), Korean grocery markets, Korean beauty businesses, Korean-language churches, and community organizations serving the Korean-American diaspora from across DFW. This commercial corridor has grown steadily since the 1990s and draws Korean-American families from Dallas County, Collin County, and Denton County seeking culturally familiar businesses and community connection. North Carrollton near SH-190 has a parallel Indian-American technology professional community. Together, these immigrant communities create sustained rental demand that has proven resilient through economic cycles, particularly for 2BR and 3BR units accommodating extended families.

What are Texas security deposit rules for Carrollton landlords?

Texas Property Code Chapter 92 applies identically in both county portions of Carrollton. No deposit cap (§92.102). 30-day return deadline after tenant surrenders possession AND provides forwarding address (§92.103). Written itemized deductions required (§92.104) within 30 days. Bad-faith penalty (§92.109): 3× retained + $100 + attorney fees. On a $1,400 deposit wrongfully retained: $4,200 + $100 + fees. Non-refundable fees clearly labeled in the lease are not deposits. File disputes in the county court for the property’s location.

What are typical rent levels in Carrollton TX in 2026?

South Carrollton near DART Trinity Mills Station / Old Town (Dallas County): 1BR $1,100–$1,600 — DART transit premium; Korean-American district; Old Town character; strongest submarket. North Carrollton near SH-190 / Frankford Rd (Denton County): 1BR $1,100–$1,500 — newer apartment communities; Indian-American community; tech employer access. Central Carrollton / I-35E / Josey Lane: 1BR $950–$1,350 — established stock; CFBISD proximity; Medical City Carrollton catchment.

For context: Farmers Branch: $1,100–$1,600; Addison: $1,200–$1,800; Plano: $1,300–$1,900. All Carrollton pricing is market-driven under Texas’s §250.007 / SB 1780 preemption.

How does the Dallas/Denton county split affect Carrollton landlords?

Beyond eviction filings, the Dallas/Denton county split affects: Property taxes — rates and assessment notices come from Dallas CAD or Denton CAD based on the parcel’s county. Small claims filings (deposit disputes under $20,000) go to the respective county Justice Court. Appraisal protests go to the relevant county ARB. Texas rent law (§250.007, SB 1780, Ch. 92) applies identically in both county portions — there are no different rent, deposit, or notice rules based on county. When acquiring a Carrollton rental property, always confirm the county at dallascad.org or dcad.org and record it so future filings go to the correct agency.